Skip to the content

Board of Directors

Martin Ferron

Chairman of the Board

Director Since: June 7, 2012

Martin R. Ferron is presently the Chair of the Board, and served as the Executive Chair of the Board until December 31, 2021. Prior to that, he served as the Chief Executive Officer of the Company until December 31, 2020. Mr. Ferron originally joined the Company as President and Chief Executive Officer, and as a member of the Board, on June 7, 2012. Previously, Mr. Ferron was Director, President and Chief Executive Officer of Helix Energy Solutions Inc., a NYSE-listed international energy services company. Prior to joining Helix, Mr. Ferron worked in successively more senior management positions with oil services and construction companies including McDermott Marine Construction, Oceaneering International and Comex Group.

Joe Lambert

President & Chief Executive Officer

Director Since: January 1, 2021

Joseph C. Lambert became Chief Executive Officer of the Company on January 1, 2021. He had previously been appointed President on October 31, 2017, while also retaining his role as Chief Operating Officer which he had held since June 1, 2013. Mr. Lambert originally joined the Company as General Manager of Mining in April 2008 after an extensive career in the mining industry. Mr. Lambert was promoted to Vice President, Oil Sands Operations in September 2010, and accepted the position of Vice President, Operations Support in January 2012.

Bryan Pinney

Lead Director & Chairman of Audit Committee

Director Since: May 13, 2015

Bryan D. Pinney was appointed as the Company’s lead independent director on October 31, 2017. He is the principal of Bryan D. Pinney Professional Corporation, which provides financial advisory and consulting services. Mr. Pinney was also a partner with Deloitte between 2002 and 2015, serving as Calgary Managing Partner from 2002 through 2007, as National Managing Partner of Audit & Assurance from 2007 to 2011, and as Vice Chair until June 2015. Mr. Pinney was also a past member of Deloitte’s board of directors and chair of the Finance and Audit Committee.

Thomas Stan

Chairman of Human Resources & Compensation Committee

Director Since: July 14, 2016

Thomas P. Stan was the President and CEO of Corval Energy Ltd., a Calgary, Alberta based oil company, until September of 2019. Previously, Mr. Stan served as Managing Director of Investment Banking at Desjardins Capital Markets and Blackmont Capital Markets, President and CEO of Phoenix Energy Ltd. and Sound Energy Trust, and Chairman and CEO of Total Energy Services Ltd. Mr. Stan began his career at Suncor, before spending 16 years at Hess Corporation as Vice President Corporate Planning. After Petro Canada acquired Hess Canada, Mr. Stan became Vice President of Corporate Development of Petro Canada.

John Pollesel

Chair of Operations Committee

Director Since: November 23, 2017

John J. Pollesel is currently the Chief Executive Officer of Boreal Agrominerals Inc., a private company that explores for, tests, develops and produces organic approved agromineral fertilizers and soil amendment products. Until November of 2017, Mr. Pollesel was Senior Vice President, Mining for Finning (Canada). Prior to Finning, Mr. Pollesel held the positions of CEO for the Morris Group of Companies, Chief Operating Officer for Vale’s North Atlantic Operations, and Chief Financial Officer for Compania Minera Antamina in Peru, one of the largest copper/zinc mining and milling operations in the world.

Maryse Saint-Laurent

Chair of Governance & Sustainability Committee

Director Since: August 8, 2019

Maryse C. Saint-Laurent is a corporate director and currently serves on the board of directors of Turquoise Hill Resources Ltd., the Alberta Securities Commission, and most recently Pretivm Resources Inc. Ms. Saint-Laurent is an accomplished executive with over 25 years experience as a business oriented corporate, transactional and securities lawyer in the energy, power, and mining sectors.  Ms. Saint-Laurent also possesses several years experience in human resources, labour relations, compensation, and benefits, as well as pension management.

Kristina Williams

Director Since: August 8, 2019

Kristina E. Williams is the President and CEO of Alberta Enterprise Corporation, which oversees a fund consisting of twenty-four venture capital investments with an underlying portfolio of over 200 technology companies. Ms. WIlliams also serves as the Swedish Honorary Consul for Northern Alberta, is a member of the Board of Governors for the Northern Alberta Institute of Technology (NAIT), and is a board member of Alcanna Inc. Previously, Ms. Williams held the position of Vice President of Marketing and Sales for Natraceutical Canada Inc.

Dr. Vanessa Guthrie AO

Director Since: March 1, 2024

Dr. Vanessa Guthrie AO is an experienced Non-Executive Director with an executive career spanning thirty years in the resources sector, in a variety of diverse minerals and energy resources. Vanessa is Non-Executive Director of ASX-listed companies Santos Ltd, Lynas Rare Earths Ltd and Orica Limited. Vanessa is also Chancellor of Curtin University and a Director of Cricket Australia. Vanessa has qualifications in geology, environment, law, and business management including a PhD in Geology. She was awarded an Honorary Doctor of Science from Curtin University in 2017 for her contribution to sustainability, innovation, and policy leadership in the resources industry. She is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD) the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE) and the Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy (AusIMM). Vanessa’s contribution to the mining industry has been recognised globally, and in 2021 she was awarded an Officer in the Order of Australia for distinguished service to the minerals and resources sector, and as a role model for women in business.